First Friday | Artist – Kevin Bass | February 1st

First Friday | Artist – Kevin Bass | February 1st

+Join us for an opening reception 7 – 10pm+

117 S. West Street
Raleigh, NC 27601

Kevin Bass grew up in Southern Pines, NC and now resides in Raleigh, NC. He has been a professional artist for many years. His work has been displayed in local galleries, juries exhibitions and in restaurants throughout the Southeast.

While attending Appalachian State University, Kevin found a new passion…the outdoors. Exploring nature and how it is ever changing opened up new possibilities for his art. He now creates impressionistic landscapes depicting the Southeastern area.

In studying art history his desire for abstract painting became apparent. The desire to explore new techniques and painting styles merged into a series of new work. He now creates abstract paintings based on nature and organic shapes.

I currently work in two separate styles of painting. One method or style of painting are my abstract pieces, the other body of work (which are my landscape/floral series) are displayed today. This body of work is compiled of my love of the outdoor landscape as I see it and my continued study of the traditional flowers in a vase.

As I walk along overgrown natural paths in the woods, I explore the scenery and take notes with my sketch book. I observe natural and manmade paths, bridges, arrangements and floral compositions. Being inspired by Monet along with many other Impressionist painters of the day, I enjoy painting Plein Aire when I can. I feel as though it gives me a better connection with the work. Most of my pieces are painted in acrylics and oils, sometimes a combination of the two.

My exploration into the traditional flowers in a vase still life has expanded into a series of its’ on. I have experimented in different ways of painting the subject and repainting the subject. To me it’s a traditional/timeless subject that does not get old to look at nor explore the variations of recreating a classic.

-Kevin Bass

 

6e40025c432140299d8c8c298fa2dfe8

bbba52dd0c4f48eaaf8e62909057b66c

f31f2c43ade34e16ae8bf6ca3550e8d0

ae811dd3d4804b5b8400848619de7b11

http://www.kevinbassart.com

Leave a comment